Public Whip: The Rebels are up!

Get ’em while they’re hot…

Peter Tapsell Louth & Horncastle – the only Tory to vote with Blair.

Diane Abbott – Hackney North & Stoke Newington
John Austin – Erith & Thamesmead
Richard Burden – Birmingham, Northfield
Michael Clapham – Barnsley West & Penistone
Katy Clark – Ayrshire North & Arran
Harry Cohen – Leyton & Wanstead
Jeremy Corbyn – Islington North
Jim Cousins – Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Ann Cryer – Keighley
Frank Dobson – Holborn & St Pancras
Gwyneth Dunwoody – Crewe & Nantwich
Mark Fisher – Stoke-on-Trent Central
Paul Flynn – Newport West
Neil Gerrard – Walthamstow
Ian Gibson – Norwich North
Roger Godsiff – Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small Heath
John Grogan – Selby
David Hamilton – Midlothian
Doug Henderson – Newcastle upon Tyne North
Kate Hoey – Vauxhall
Kelvin Hopkins – Luton North
Glenda Jackson – Hampstead & Highgate
Sian James – Swansea East
Lynne Jones – Birmingham, Selly Oak
Sadiq Khan – Tooting
Peter Kilfoyle – Liverpool, Walton
Mark Lazarowicz – Edinburgh North & Leith
Tony Lloyd – Manchester Central
Andrew Love – Edmonton
Robert Marshall-Andrews – Medway
Chris McCafferty – Calder Valley
John McDonnell – Hayes & Harlington
Michael Meacher – Oldham West & Royton
Julie Morgan – Cardiff North
George Mudie – Leeds East
Chris Mullin – Sunderland South
Gordon Prentice – Pendle
Nick Raynsford – Greenwich & Woolwich
Linda Riordan – Halifax Lab
Clare Short – Birmingham, Ladywood
Alan Simpson – Nottingham South
Dennis Skinner – Bolsover
Peter Soulsby – Leicester South
David Taylor – North West Leicestershire
Emily Thornberry – Islington South & Finsbury
Jon Trickett – Hemsworth
Robert Wareing – Liverpool, West Derby
David Winnick – Walsall North
Mike Wood – Batley & Spen

First impressions:

All the regulars seem to be there – even Galloway showed his face for this one.

Julie Morgan is one our few blogging MPs – it’ll interesting to see whether she chooses toblog her reasons for rebelling and, if so, whether the debate in the blogosphere, which was overwhelming against 90 days, had any influence.

Four of Birmingham Labour MPs voted against – Lynne Jones and Claire Short are no surprise but I’m betting Political Hack will be happy to see Roger Godsiff and Richard Burden on the list.

Emily Thornberry, Sian James, Katy Clark, Sadiq Khan, Linda Riordan and Peter Soulsby are part of the class of 2005 of whom only Linda has previous form for rebelling – on ID cards as well, so no complaints about that from my direction – so there’s the clear evidence of principled votes that Political Hack was looking for, not that you’d ever doubt the principles of Jeremy Corbyn, Dennis Skinner, Chris Mullin, Bob Marshal-Andrews and all the rest of the usual ‘awkward squad’, but how else but as a matter of principle can you account for Nick Raynsford rebelling?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.